Umina surf club hold awards presentation online

Umina Surf Life Saving Club held its annual senior awards presentation online on Saturday, September 12.
The awards aim to recognise club members for excellence across lifesaving, education, various surf sports and volunteering, said club president Mr Stephen Scahill.
The Club Person of the Year was Tom Magurren, who was “recognised for his all-round impact in the community through his lifesaving, coaching and volunteering efforts”.
Mr Magurren said he loved to help in any way he could at the club where both his children and grandchildren were actively involved.
“It’s a great thrill to watch the kids improve and I’m very honoured to have received this award,” Mr Magurren said.
“Umina Surf Club is my second home.
“It’s my happy place.”
The Life Saving Award went to Jimmy Irwin.
Mr Irwin said the award was the result of a group effort and it was an honour to be recognised on their behalf.
“So many people contribute to the lifesaving efforts at Umina and I’m thrilled to be part of this club and part of such a strong team,” Mr Irwin said.
Lifetime member Kerry Armstrong led Patrol 2 to the club’s Patrol of the Year award, while Rick Boylan was recognised as the Patrol Captain of the Year.
Reigning Australian Young Life Saver of the Year Kai Darwin took out the club’s Young Life Saver of the Year award.

Media release, 15 Sep 2020
Stephen Scahill, Umina Surf Life Saving Club